Federation to hold Super Sunday and Annual Meeting on Oct. 21, announces Yasher Koach Awards

By: Reporter staff

The Jewish Federation of Greater Binghamton will hold a combined Super Sunday and Annual Meeting on Sunday, October 21, at 10 am, at the Jewish Community Center, 500 Clubhouse Rd., Vestal. The cost to attend will be $10 and reservations should be made by Sunday, October 14, to ensure there’s enough food for the brunch. “The Federation has the ever present Jewish mother’s fear of not having enough food, so let us know you will be coming,” said Sima Auerbach, executive director of the Federation. Reserve a seat by calling the Federation at 724-2332.
“This year, the event will be held after the holidays so people can relax and enjoy the beautiful fall weather of Broome County,” she added. “It’s the perfect time to reconnect with old friends and make new ones. Come hungry because there will be a delicious brunch. Don’t forget to make a reservation!”
The theme for the 2019 Campaign is the front porch. “The front porch was an important part of many homes in the Southern Tier,” Auerbach said. “Families congregated on the front porch: it was the foundation of the area – of every neighborhood – much like the Federation is the foundation of our community. I put two chairs by my front door to create my own front porch.”
Auerbach noted that “the campaign this year will be one of recollection and moving forward – of reminiscences and possibilities. We want to renew and possibly re-look at the way we interact with the Greater Binghamton Jewish Community by bringing you onto our front porch. We invite you to help us map out the future and bring together Jewish people of all ages and demographics to ensure that we ensure our ability to help future generations, just like we have helped those in the past.”
People may make their 2019 gift at the meeting, rather than wait for a call. That will help the Federation know what funds are available before the allocation process, which begins in early November. 
During the event, officers will be elected to the Federation’s Board of Directors and Yasher Koach awards will be bestowed. The awards honor local members of community organizations. The Phonathon will be held on Sunday from 2-8:30 pm and from Monday-Wednesday, October 22-24, from 6-8:30 pm.
“Please be sure to pick up your phone and say hello to one of our dedicated volunteers,” said Auerbach. “Make a donation and help keep our community vital! You can also call us before October 21, which is a double mitzvah. You’ve made your pledge and have given us the opportunity to call someone else. It’s helpful to have a sense of how much money we’ll be raising before we allocate funds.”
This year’s Yasher Koach award winners are:
Beth David Synagogue – Toby Kohn
College of Jewish Studies – Marti Klionsky 
Hadassah – Marcy Yonaty 
Hillel Academy – Sarah Thomas
Jewish Community Center – Gerry Hubal
Jewish Family Service – Rachel Greenblott
Jewish Federation of Greater Binghamton – Eileen Miller
Rohr Chabad Center – Marie Werner
Temple Concord – Jean Hecht
Temple Israel – Alan and Julie Piaker 
The Reporter – Richard Lewis
Auerbach noted that the Federation has accomplished a great deal throughout this year. She said that not everything the Federation does gets publicized. “It’s the quiet, behind-the-scenes activities that also help us serve the community,” she added. “We’re here to help local organizations with their needs and questions – whether to brainstorm on how to accomplish a task or give suggestions on the best way to approach it.”
“Join us for this wonderful event,” Auerbach continued. “Celebrate all that the Greater Binghamton Jewish community has to offer. If anyone needs a ride to the annual meeting, please call the Federation office at 724-2332 and we’ll try to arrange transportation for you.”
The Federation Board
The new slate of Federation board members includes President Suzanne Holwitt, Immediate Past President Howard Warner, Vice-President Mark Walker, Treasurer Jeff Shapiro, Assistant Treasure Lee Schechter, Secretary Eileen Miller, Assistant Secretary Charles Manasse, Campaign Co-Chairwomen Rita Shawn and Marilyn Bell, Endowment Committee Chairman Michael Wright and CRC Chairman Arieh A. Ullmann. Board members to 2019 are Lisa Blackwell, Rita Bleier, Steve Gilbert, Shelley Hubal, Jeff Platsky and Susan Walker. Board members to 2020 are Nancy Dorfman, Mark Epstein, Dennis Foreman, Lillian Levy and Cathy Velenchik. Board members to 2021 are Neil Auerbach, Brendan Byrnes, Sondra Foreman, Charles Gilinsky and Richard Lewis.